More than a Dozen Charters Eligible for California Distinguished Schools Program

  • Print

October 12, 2011 The California Distinguished School Program honors some of California's most exemplary and inspiring public schools. Schools selected for the Distinguished School Award demonstrate significant gains in narrowing the achievement gap.

Elementary and secondary (middle and high) schools are recognized during alternate years. For the 2012 cycle, eligible elementary schools are invited to participate.

In order to be invited to apply for Distinguished School honors, schools must meet a variety of eligibility criteria including designated federal and state accountability measures based on the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) and the Academic Performance Index (API) requirements.

This year, more than a dozen California charters are eligible to apply, including:

  • Aspire Junior Collegiate Academy
  • Aspire Summit Charter Academy
  • Aspire Titan Academy
  • Aspire Vincent Shalvey Academy
  • Bullis Charter
  • Camarillo Academy of Progressive Education (CAPE)
  • Celerity Dyad
  • Charter School of Morgan Hill
  • Emerson Parkside Academy Charter
  • Endeavor College Preparatory Charter
  • King/Chavez Primary Academy
  • Linscott Charter
  • Open Charter Magnet
  • Quail Lake Environmental Charter
  • San Jose Charter Academy
  • Valor Academy Charter
  • Village Elementary Charter

Get more information on the program, including the application instructions, on the CDE website.