CCSA Congratulates 2017 Blue Ribbon Award Recipients

October 2, 2017

  • Print
Six California charter schools were among the 23 charter schools across the nation named last week as 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The schools will be honored at a national awards ceremony November 6-7 in Washington, D.C.

The charter public school honorees are:

Northern California

Bay Area

Central Valley

Los Angeles/SoCal

This coveted award honors elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. All schools are recognized in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores, and graduation rates.

Nationally, a total of 342 schools, both public (traditional, charter, choice, and magnet) schools as well as private schools, were honored this week by U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy Devos. In its 35-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has presented this award to some 8,500 schools. Public schools are nominated by top education officials in each state, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools.