Six California Charter Schools Named 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools

September 29, 2016

  • Print
Six charter schools were among the 29 California public schools named this week as 2016 National Blue Ribbon Schools. The schools will be honored at a national awards ceremony November 7-8 in Washington, D.C.

The charter public school honorees are:

Northern California:

  • Rocklin Academy
  • Santa Rosa Accelerated Charter School (dependent charter)

Los Angeles:

  • Hawthorne Math and Science Academy
  • KIPP LA College Prep
  • San Jose Charter Academy in West Covina

San Diego:

  • Arroyo Vista Charter in Chula Vista

This coveted award honors elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap. All schools are recognized in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores, and graduation rates.

Nationally, a total of 279 public (traditional, charter, choice, and magnet) schools, as well as 50 private schools, were honored this week by U.S. Secretary of Education John B. King Jr. In its 34-year history, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has presented this award to fewer than 8,500 schools. Public schools are nominated by top education officials in each state, the Department of Defense Education Activity, and the Bureau of Indian Education. The Council for American Private Education (CAPE) nominates private schools.